Allen Pack, MD

by Allen T. Pack, M.D.
Chairperson, DPSS

Controversy. That may as well be Allen Frances’ middle name. Not that he exactly channels Ariel Sharon, but he is totally fearless at speaking his mind. We got the best of him this past October as our Distinguished Psychiatrist.  He opined at length about the new DSM, its creation and its impact. He not only discussed its impact on psychiatry, but also on mental health care delivery as a whole in the coming decade. He was not optimistic. We found him to be a delightful mix of eloquence and humility. His case conference on Friday night with the psych residents was equally involving. Held at Napa Valley Grille, it was the best attended resident conference in our series with “standing room only”.  The case was complex, the discussion was lively, and pretty much everyone present took part.  Dr. Frances shone, not only as a clinician, but also as a facilitator.

Allen Frances, M.D.

Dr. Allen Frances.

A video of Dr. Frances' lecture is available.

This October much will change. We will switch the location to the Faculty Club, since the Alumni Center will be in the midst of construction. The format will change as well. We’ll have the customary lecture following the faculty association meeting, but then a complimentary lunch will be served accompanied by a second presentation. That means more CME: four hours altogether. Note that if you wish to attend the luncheon session, you must RSVP at least one week in advance.

Dr. Salman Akhtar

Salman Akhtar, M.D.

Our Distinguished Psychiatrist for this year will be Salman Akhtar, perhaps the most popular psychoanalytic lecturer in the country at this time. He has over 300 publications; this includes eight volumes of poetry! He serves as a professor at ThomasJefferson Medical College. He has lectured broadly, both nationally and internationally. He is the recipient of numerous awards in both the fields of psychiatry and psychoanalysis, most notably the Irma Bland award as the Outstanding Teacher of Psychiatric Residents in America. As most of you know, theraison d’être of the Distinguished Psychiatrist Seminar Series is just that: to provide our residents a modicum of teaching in the area of psychoanalytic psychotherapy by the luminaries in the field.

Dr. Akhtar’s two lectures will be the paired phenomena of generosity and gratitude.  His topics are in a different universe from the DSM, and different as well from the more common conflict-driven psychoanalytic topics. No offense to the memory of Melanie Klein.

Mark your calendar for Saturday, October 18th at the UCLA Faculty Center, 480 Charles E. Young Dr. East, Los Angeles, CA, 90095. Remember to get back to us before the event with your RSVP for lunch.

On the Friday evening before the meeting the DPSS lecturer traditionally meets with the psychiary residents to discuss a case presented by one of them.  Discussions are typically informal and informative. The next day at 10:30 AM following a 15 minute break after the business meeting, the speaker is introduced by Chairperson Allen Pack, M.D. The ensuing two-hour lecture is followed by Q &A  and then a private lunch for the speaker with members of the PCFA Board of Directors.

The first Distinguished Psychiatrist lecturer was James Masterson, M.D. The sixteen others who have received this honor are Drs. Glen Gabbard,  Ethel Person,  Robert Michels, Otto Kernberg, Robert Naborski, Mardi Horowitz, Lenore Terr, Vamik Volkan, Roy Menninger, Russell Meares, John Gunderson, Anthony Bateman, Marcia Kraft Goin, Richard Green, Peter Kramer and Allen Frances.


Allen Pack MD and Peter Kramer MD

Dr. Pack presents the DPSS award to 2012 recipient Peter Kramer, M.D.

Richard J Metzner MD and Otto Kernberg MD

2001 DPSS honoree Otto Kernberg, M.D. with PCFA president Richard J. Metzner, M.D.