2011 Neal Miller Award from the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research

Cousins Center faculty member George Slavich has been named recipient of the 2011 Neal E. Miller New Investigator Award from the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research. The award is presented for work “imaginatively conceived and carefully conducted prior to the recipient's appointment as an assistant professor or an equivalent rank.” Dr. Slavich received the award for his research on “the interaction between behavior and biological mechanisms in homeostasis, the maintenance of health, the pathophysiology of disease, or the susceptibility to illness.” The award consists of a plaque and a cash award. In addition, Dr. Slavich will give an invited address at the upcoming annual meeting for the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research, to be held in Park City, Utah, from June 15th-18th, 2011.

Neal Miller was the first psychologist to receive the United States National Medal of Science. He pioneered the application of learning theory to behavioral therapies, and the use of chemical and electrical stimulation to analyze brain mechanisms of behavior, homeostasis, and reinforcement. The Neal Miller Award was established on the occasion of Neal Miller’s 80th birthday. Dr. Slavich is the 21st recipient of the award. Previous winners include: Steve Cole, Hugo Critchley, Elissa Epel, Clemens Kirschbaum, Brian Knutson, and Erica Sloan.